Workshop

In our Bremen workshop we repair and restore percussion instruments from all manufacturers and types and from various eras.

We fashion spare parts and equipment for timpani, drums and pitched percussion instruments in cooperation with select craftsmen.

We also carry out overhauls during orchestra breaks, replacement of virtually all kinds of drumheads and specialist repairs on instruments belonging to renowned orchestras and ensembles, as well as for music colleges, schools and groups. Additionally, we carry out thorough restorations of historic percussion instruments.

Restoration:

The restoration of older timpani and drums is the second main focus of our enterprise, alongside our passion for natural drum skins. Even during his time as a music student, Marcus Linke was fascinated by the rich and unusual tonal qualities of percussion instruments from bygone eras.

Today, even after more than two decades of carefully studying the secrets of the instrument makers of the past, it is still always an incredible experience to be able to awaken instruments to new life after years in the shadows.

Although the main focus of our work lies in the tonal and technical restoration of the instruments, their optical qualities are nevertheless of great importance to us. Where possible, we endeavour to preserve the original varnish, create identical replacement parts and use traditional artisan’s techniques.

This way, we are able to breathe new life into older instruments without entirely obscuring their fascinating original patina.

Werkstatt

In unserer Bremer Werkstatt reparieren und restauriern wir Schlaginstrumente aller Hersteller und Bauarten aus verschiedensten Epochen.

Wir fertigen in Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Handwerksbetrieben Ersatzteile und Zubehör für Pauken, Trommeln und Malletinstrumenten.

Generalüberholungen in den Spielzeitpausen, sowie alle Arten von Fellservice und Spezialreparaturen für Instrumente renommierter Orchester und Ensembles, als auch Hochschulen, Musikschulen und Musikvereinen gehören genauso zu unserem Repetoire, wie komplette Restaurierungen historischer Schlaginstrumente.

Restaurierung:

Die Restaurierung alter Pauken und Trommeln ist neben der Beschäftigung mit Naturfellen ein weiterer wesentlicher Grundpfeiler unser Arbeit. Schon während seines Musikstudiums haben Marcus Linke Schlaginstrumente aus vergangenen Epochen und deren außergewöhnlich charaktervolle Klangeigenschaften fasziniert.

Auch heute, nach mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten behutsamer Annährung an das Geheimnis großartiger Handwerkskunst der Instrumentenbauer vergangener Jahrhunderte, ist es jedes mal ein großes Erlebnis, Instrumente nach langem Schattendasein wieder zu musikalischem Leben zu erwecken.

Obwohl unser Hauptaugenmerk auf der klanglichen und technischen Wiederbelebung der alten Schlaginstrumente liegt, ist uns auch der optische Aspekt sehr wichtig. Sofern es möglich ist, konservieren wir die alten Lacke, fertigen orginalgetreue Ersatzteile an und verwenden traditionelle handwerkliche Verfahren.

Auf diese Weise verleihen wir den Instrumenten einen neuen Glanz, wollen die jeweilige Patina jedoch nie ganz verdecken.